638Reactions
Twitter Marketing Software

Tweet Adder 4.0 Review: Automated Twitter Marketing Software

Review of: Tweet Adder
Software by:
TweetAdder
Version:
4.0
Tweet Adder

Reviewed by:
Rating:
1
On April 27, 2013
Last modified:June 10, 2013

Summary:

I thought this is one of the best Twitter Marketing Software in the market, but I was mistaken, I don't recommend TweetAdder 4.0

TweetAdder Version 3.0 was such a joy, now you will have to say goodbye to the older version, and welcome Tweet Adder 4.0, the latest version which has been designed to comply with all of Twitter’s Terms of Service to guarantee stability, performance, and to deliver high level of security and protection for the software users.

If you already have TweetAdder, then download the latest version and check out the cool new features.

If this is your first time to hear about this software, then please keep reading my TweetAdder 4.0 review, it maybe the right one for you.

Important Update!

I no longer recommend TweetAdder 4.0

Please click here to read why!

What is Tweet Adder?

TweetAdder is an interesting and unique software that allows you -in general- to manage Twitter accounts.

You can manage more than Twitter account within the software at the same time, have control over the follow/unfollow process, clean your account from dead followers, and empower your Twitter marketing plan by scheduling tweets, or automate the process by tweeting an RSS feed. You also can retweet another user tweets, and thank people when they follow you.

Tweet Adder 4.0 has many features, trust me… You won’t get bored :)

What TweetAdder 4.0 Offers

Probably the main change that has been made in TweetAdder 4.0 is using Twitter API and Oauth. Also, there has been an improve for Search Filters to work with all search types:

[column span="six"]

Filter Results by:

  • Followers Friends
  • Tweets
  • Filter Private Accounts
  • Filter Accounts with default profile images
  • & More

[/column]

[column span="six"]

New Unfollow filtering options

  • Not Following Back
  • No Profile Image
  • Foreign Language
  • High Ratio
  • Inactive
  • Talkative
  • Quiet

[/column]

TweetAdder 4.0 overview

[panel]

Important!

TweetAdder announced on their site that Version 3.0 and all prior versions of TweetAdder will no long be available or supported as of 4/26/2013.

All current TweetAdder users will be required to upgrade to the new version of TweetAdder 4.0 by May, 2013. As a reminder, TweetAdder users must comply with Twitter’s Terms of Service.
[/panel]

I thought this is one of the best Twitter Marketing Software in the market, but I was mistaken, I don't recommend TweetAdder 4.0
  • 1
    editor rating

I create websites with WordPress, and I develop Thesis Skins. I am a social network lover. I am also the night creature who works hard to keep this project up. Owner and founder of the Famous Blog.

GET FREE EMAIL UPDATES

Get our latest articles delivered to your email inbox, plus download our FREE 15 minutes later marketing guide.

We respect your privacy!

{ 53 comments… add one }

  • Esteban Buitrago September 4, 2013, 10:00 am

    OMG! Just bought it… no automated… can’t follow or unfollow automaticly…

    I understand it’s the new twitter policy or whatever… but you should not sell and “automated software” if it’s not “automated”… or knowing people is specting automated follow and unfollow… I want a refund please.

  • TG June 6, 2013, 7:34 pm

    What scam. We need to file a class action lawsuit against them. There is no way they can get away with selling you a software with certain functionality and in fact that certain funcitionality is why we purchased it to begin with. Then take that away and expect to still reap the financial benefits of how they sold us the product to begin with. It is illegal what they are doing. It is like selling a person a Car then 1 year later taking out the engine when it comes in for service. Then telling them now wait until you see how great your car is now. Total SCAM!! Dont be fooled and lets sue these F&^%S

  • Michael June 1, 2013, 3:50 pm

    What a pity – this was a great program, but now it’s just taking up diskspace. Without auto follow what is it offering? Err… Twitter. Well there you go.
    Delete.

  • Alex May 28, 2013, 1:39 am

    The recent “upgrade” of Tweet Adder is a thinly veiled down-grade forced by the strong, unyielding hand of Twitter. Removing the auto follow and unfollow features no longer satisfies my requirements for a social pages tool; that is saving time! I am a Social Media Manager responsible for multiple twitter pages, and previously I could set Tweet Adder to follow a reasonable amount of users (not spamming) and then let it run and go back to it once it finished. Now I may as well just follow users on Twitter. It will still be easier using TA 4 to unfollow people, but not enough perhaps to warrant a monthly subscription.

    I completely understand why they had to change, but unfortunately (if all these negative comments are anything to go by) the Tweet Adder software no longer fills a gap in the market. It just clogs it. A sad day for what was once a great little startup.

  • Lee Marriott May 23, 2013, 1:07 pm

    Absolutely gutted about the update it will take much more time to try and manually add users. Oh well I had a feeling Twitter would eventually stop the service.

  • MARY May 22, 2013, 10:29 pm

    So, I paid for three licenses (have been using TA for about a year) and now they are going to ask me to pay for a monthly subscription on top of that?

  • Stephen Malan May 22, 2013, 1:53 pm

    We have been playing with the new version for some time now and we are somewhat disappointed at the loss of the automation of the follower others and the unfollow users who don’t follow back. Those were two vital time savers for us. Should keep in mind that Tweetadder 4.0 is the work of lawyers as it is the result of the settlement of the legal battle that Twitter filed against TweetAdder and others last year.
    This was not TweetAdders idea of improving their service. Time will tell if it kills TweetAdder of not.

  • Al May 22, 2013, 10:07 am

    I’d chime in, but I can’t even get Tweetadder 4 to run. It throws a “Runtime error 216″ when I try to launch it. Tried talking to the help desk and all I get are canned replies that don’t solve the problem. They even told me to make sure I was running version 4.xxxxx, but their downloads are all labelled 4.0.0.0.0

    How’s that for “we’ve already got your money, so go away and don’t bother me, boy”.

    I’ve been a version 3 subscriber for quite a while and I’m NOT looking forward to losing the functionality of TA 3, but I understand that this is Twitter’s fault and not that of the TA folks.

  • Mike May 20, 2013, 9:30 pm

    4.0 is a major fail for Tweet Adder. Without the follow / unfollow automation there’s no reason to even have it. Seriously, it’s not even half the product it used to be.

  • JW Najarian May 16, 2013, 2:51 pm

    I love TweetAdder 3.0 and do not believe it is the tool of spammers. The messages I get to my private section from people I do not follow is not coming from this type of software. I know we have to move, but I am very unhappy. First I would have paid more to stay with 3.0. I do know that TweetAdder has had years of issues with Twitter and it’s TOS, and although I have used this program for many years I have yet to be kicked off for spamming or over joining and such crap.

    The TOS says the you cannot automate posts which is exactly what I need to do.. not just to market my widget, but to put out posts about my magazine stories and articles etc… I am just hoping that the incredible power that was once TweetAdder is not lost to 4.0.

    I also use TweetDeck and it is a great progam that cannot stay out of locked up mode. It took forever for TweetAdder to get their product to work without crashing continuosly and now I am fearful I will have two TweetDeck type programs… great power that won’t work or worse a watered down version of the best Twitter program ever.

    I have an affiliate connection with this program, but will do a story on it without the link as to not make my piece market propaganda.

    BTW TweetAdder. I am glad you are moving to a pay model that will actually pay you for your hard work…. You should have changed earlier… (assuming this program is good, of course)

    JW Najarian

  • Meredith May 13, 2013, 10:56 pm

    Tweet Adder is worthless now that automated follow and unfollow have been removed. Hesham, you can’t possibly think that 4 is better, it’s worthless. I can follow and unfollow people on my own on Twitter.com.

    • Hesham Zebida May 14, 2013, 12:37 am

      I just gave it 4 before this is what I personally think, my review is based on a general criteria, so what happen is they enhanced their software and removed any illegal kind of functions, and that’s why I think this software has been improved.

      Now that everyone can participate and say what they think, I probably should find a way to add some sort of user rating or review functionality to the site, so everyone can submit their own rating.

    • Jim May 22, 2013, 4:34 pm

      Agreed. Essentially, the current features of 4.0 can be obtained from Twitter directly.

  • brittany smith May 12, 2013, 8:53 pm

    I only DLed the new version just now because my beloved 3.0 stop letting me send messages to my followers. Having successfully used TweetAdder for years to build my follow base, let me say aboslutely: 4.0 IS A WASTE OF SPACE ON MY HARD DRIVE. I really can’t do ANYTHING with it that I was able to do before. It won’t even let me send out messages. I am uninstalling 4.0 immediately and running out the license on my 3.0 until I can find another tool that does what I need it to.

    TweetAdder FAIL. Thanks for the memories.

  • eduardo May 6, 2013, 12:36 am

    I join the group of people who say that this version is totally disappointing. But dont buy a upgrade over this program. I have the feeling that I have been cheated.

  • Sarah Harper May 5, 2013, 1:27 am

    Hi Hesham,

    I am interested into purchase this, but could you please confirm me, many people that are offering twitter follower’s services on fiverr are using this tool or is there any other tool available for that work?

    Gigs like: I will give you 20k/30k twitter followers in just $5

    • David Kimberley May 9, 2013, 3:42 am

      Don’t waste your time on those gigs. Most of the accounts are spam accounts and will get shut down by twitter somewhere along the line. You wouldn’t want your account shut down because its associated with all those fake accounts. Regardless the followers will never support your cause. Put your money to good use and get real visitors.

    • Hesham Zebida May 14, 2013, 12:17 am

      Sarah, there is many a few ways to gain more twitter followers, some of them are easy, fast and probably expensive, some other ways are hard, and takes time.

      I personally never done that before, I mean buying followers, I don’t think it’s a good idea for me or my business. However, it can be great idea for someone else. So, what you want to do is go with what works for you.

  • rubicon3 May 4, 2013, 2:58 am

    TweetAdder 4 is absolute garbage. The only features which made TweetAdder worth buying was the follow automation. Now that’s gone there is no point spending money on a software like this, it is all far more easily done using one of many different twitter freeware programs. The TweetAdder crew were always very rude and highhanded, but they had a fabulous product. Now they are on the big slide downhill.

  • Jasmine May 3, 2013, 11:11 am

    I used 3.0 and it really helped build my twitter account. Especially with the automate follow/unfollow ect. I don’t like 4.0 it is very manual!!!!!! I am very disappointed in it.

  • Rahul May 3, 2013, 12:06 am

    I personally prefer Justretweet over any other marketing software, but I will give it a shot to see what happens.

  • Heather May 2, 2013, 10:38 am

    I was a big fan of Tweet Adder 3.0. Version 4 is a total disappointment. All the automated features I loved are gone, might as well just use Hootsuite instead. Luckily I never paid a fee – just using the FREE version, but I understand that I’ll soon be asked to pay a monthly subscription fee. So bye bye Tweet Adder, I’ll find another solution.

  • Rudd May 1, 2013, 4:05 pm

    I was thinking of buying 3.0, too bad that I takes too much time deciding to buy it. Now 4.0, and no automation feature anymore. Maybe I should forget about buying this.

  • El Heavio May 1, 2013, 3:38 pm

    Really disappointed in the update from 3.0 to 4.0. Lost all the automation features that made this worth paying for, I might as well add manually on Twitter for free. I will see out my license, but wont buy it again.

    No communication from Tweet Adder except to inform me my current version would be obsolete 2 days before I had to upgrade to a worthless version. I want a refund.

  • Carole Sanek May 1, 2013, 12:25 pm

    Hi I was out of the country when this happened so I tried to go for the update TweetAdder said I don’t need I will auto-convert. My question is should I turn off the auto follow for now? I am a tad nervous.
    Carole Sanek recently posted..What Should You Do with a Negative Comment?My Profile

    • Hesham Zebida May 2, 2013, 6:08 pm

      Carole, not sure, but I don’t think this will cause an issue for you.

  • stefano epifani May 1, 2013, 8:19 am

    simply, now tweet adder is not more an automation tool, but a follower management tool, like many others. and quite unusefull.

  • Taswir Haider May 1, 2013, 6:47 am

    Good review Hesham bro. I am also using Tweet Adder for a long time and so far it is the best twitter automation tool. Didn’t upgrade to version 4 yet. Will give it a try soon.

    • Hesham Zebida May 2, 2013, 6:10 pm

      Taswir, thanks. Looking forward to know what you’ve got to say about the new version.

  • Ralph May 1, 2013, 3:18 am

    Really unbalanced review – you are just writing a review to earn affiliate income – shameful.
    Tweetadder 4.0 lost all the useful auto features of 3.0 – you can do much better with reFollow now

    • Hesham Zebida May 1, 2013, 2:24 pm

      Ralph, in fact, TweetAdder 4.0 is better than 3.0 (or at least this is how I personally see it), maybe you don’t get it.

      Another thing is you can download it, try it, use it.. etc. (For FREE), and if you like it then you may purchase a license. And, You can ask for your money back (You have one month to decide), so it’s totally up to You to decide if this software is good for you or not.

      • Mara June 7, 2013, 7:13 am

        Hesham, what can you say about the constant freezing of the monitor everytime you manually add a follower?

  • gene April 29, 2013, 9:06 pm

    Wow, Version 4.0 is just cluttered piece of crap. Version 3.0 was fairly simple and easy to use and had automatic follow features, now it’s useless, you might as well use Hoot Suite or just go on Twitter and manually add users and don’t pay any money for this lame version and if you do you’ll be wasting your money. Hopefully they can figure out the way to bring back the features people got this program for in the first place otherwise I don’t see too many people wanting to pay monthly fee for the same service they can do through Twitter

  • Andrew April 29, 2013, 9:06 am

    Hi Hesham,

    Thanks for the review. I had a quick question, as I’m considering purchasing Tweetadder. Is the fee a one-time deal? Or is it some sort of subscription (pay monthly, quarterly, etc). I’m assuming it’s a one-time purchase but would hate to discover that’s not the case in a month. Thanks!

    -Andrew

    • Hesham Zebida April 29, 2013, 2:39 pm

      Andrew, yes it’s only one payment. However, this won’t last for long, TweetAdder will turn to a monthly subscription, that’s why I’ve purchased an unlimited profiles license before they make the changes to their pricing model, this way I won’t be charged again.

      • Geir May 12, 2013, 8:35 pm

        Monthly subscrtiption? They must be kidding…for this crap? I am a long time user and now it’s not worth spending any money on it, subscription or not.
        Take my advise guys, stay out of spending s dingle dime on this (now) crapware.

  • Christopher April 29, 2013, 9:01 am

    Terrible. By conforming to Twitter API and OATH, TweetAdder has sacrificed the whole “set and forget” functionality that made it great. You now have to add each now follower by hand – same goes for unfollowing users. Only “follow back” is automated.

    If anyone knows of better options, please let me know. 4.0 has killed TweetAdder.

    • Tim France May 1, 2013, 3:07 pm

      Gutted.
      Totally agree with Christopher and others who are lamenting the loss of TA’s automatic functions. Why else was anyone using it? I do feel the version 4.0 is no longer what I paid for, but can’t be bothered to ask for a refund.
      It’s pretty disengenuous of TweetAdder to gut its own tool in this way, and not fess up and tell us why they made the shift, especially their paying users. I am guessing the Twitter rules (or threat of a legal suit, which I also read on another forum) caught up with them. As someone who paid for (and recommended) 2.0/3.0, I would appreciate a note telling me: “Sorry, we got our wrists slapped and have to close up”. It was nice while it lasted, but the TweetAdder party is officially over. It’s pretty dead in the water now, and I give them six months before they fold.

      Please DO share any info you have on other tools that retain the auto follow/unfollow functions.

  • Stephen Kjeldsen April 29, 2013, 5:40 am

    I have never heard of “Tweet Adder” but this sounds really interesting. The filtering options sounds very compelling to me, but as some say, they sounds a bit crazy aswell. It sounds like it is much less automated than the prior version 3.0, but thanks for the update. I wouldn’t have known about this product if you haven’t posted it!

    • Stefan Kjeldsen May 6, 2013, 4:13 am

      I have now tested it, and it seems that it is a pretty sweet and stable update!

  • Alex April 28, 2013, 10:30 pm

    I have been an user of TweetAdder 3 for over a year and I wasn’t happy at all with the support, the app crashed sometimes but it was worthy with the follow/unfollow automated feature.

    The new TweetAdder 4 is not only unstable but also lost their fabulous feature of follow/unfollow automatically, so seriously, DO NOT BUY IT, it’s a super lame application now., I was excited for a newsletter I got from them giving me the unique opportunity to extend my license before they start charging monthly fees, now I’m asking my money back after trying the new version.

  • Emory Rowland April 28, 2013, 6:16 pm

    I liked Tweetadder 3.0 because it was so simple and easy to use. Set a few things, fire and forget. These new features in 4.0 are great in theory but seem to clutter the UI. It’s just confusing.

    Support has been response of the years for me. I think they are probably a bit stretched thin with the new release. They’ll respond I’m sure.
    Emory Rowland recently posted..7 Website Builders To Avoid ForeverMy Profile

  • Iain April 28, 2013, 3:47 pm

    I will miss the unfollow and follow features of the old tweet adder. I suppose it was bound to happen at some point.

    It is no longer an automated tool. It is a Twitter follower management system. It will look more natural now though.

    C’est la vie.

  • Ali April 28, 2013, 7:10 am

    I have bought tweetadder two weeks ago and actually i am not satisfied at all. Whenever i try to make a new twitter account and start adding followers (just 50 per day), then twitter suspends my account.
    what really makes me upset is that the NEVER REPLY A TICKET or an email. Hisham, do you know the reason? can anyone here help ?

    • Trung Nguyen April 28, 2013, 12:15 pm

      Hey Ali, I’m going to get a copy of Tweet Adder 4.0 after reading the review of Hesham, but your comment made me re-thinking, and I’m waiting for the feedback of Hesham. Thanks for the comment.

    • Hesham Zebida April 28, 2013, 12:42 pm

      Hi Ali, I don’t know the reason. Also, I am not really using it to aggressively increase the number of followers, I really don’t care about that, and mostly I keep it natural.

      *For those who are thinking to use TweetAdder, I recommend you give the try it first (You can actually download a trial and try it) Give the free version a go, so you can test it (test it here means “to really test it”), so maybe the best way to that is by creating a new Twitter ID for testing, so you won’t have issues with your primary accounts.

      TweetAdder 4.0 has been released a couple of days ago, and as I’ve mentioned, it should be the safest version as it’s using the Twitter API and Oauth protocol.

      • meerkatmac October 21, 2013, 11:26 am

        I wish people would quit propagating this myth. Oauth has nothing to do with “safety”. It is there to give Twitter complete control over who uses their API. Twitter can use Oauth to shutoff any 3rd party app they choose who in their opinion violates the letter or the spirit of their terms of use. It gives Twitter complete control over their service, plain and simple. Nothing at all to do with protecting users. That’s just to load of crap Twitter shovels to disguise the real intent and purpose for requiring the use of the Oauth protocol.

  • Tom April 28, 2013, 5:41 am

    After using TweetAdder 3, I must say that version 4 is missing the automated follow and unfollow options. It is unstable and does not work with private proxies.

    TweetAdder Support is currently unresponsive and they fail to correctly inform their current customers.

    • david May 25, 2013, 8:41 pm

      I have been a Tweetadder 3.0 client for over a year and to release 4.0 with no follow – unfollow automation makes this worthless. Unless this company re-thinks this business model and FAST then they are done and this is a waste of time and certainly money

  • Jay April 28, 2013, 2:02 am

    the Quiet and Talkative unfollow filtering options is crazy, though I think it should be there and good thing it is included.

Leave a Comment

CommentLuv badge