219Reactions
Premise Review

Premise 2.0 Review : A Complete Digital Sales and Lead Generation Engine

Review of: Premise Plugin
Plugin by :
Copyblogger Media
Version:
2.0
Premise Plugin

Reviewed by:
Rating:
4.5
On September 11, 2012
Last modified:September 19, 2012

Summary:

Premise plugin is one of the WordPress plugins every blog should have. From creating great looking sales pages and opt in pages to membership sites. Highly recommended.

Premise plugin is one of those plugins that every blog should have. No matter the niche, you will always have at least one reason to use it.

Premise is a WordPress plugin created by Copyblogger Media (creators of Genesis framework) that helps you create landing pages and squeeze pages of all sorts as well as create membership type of pages.

Technically, it is a great plugin to monetize your content and make it look more professional.

One important thing about Premise is that it works with any WordPress theme, not just Genesis.

So, when you use Premise to build your site, you won’t have compatibility issues since it’s a plugin, it works with any theme, any framework, and with other plugins that are installed on your site. All what you need to have is WordPress and you are ready to go.

Continue reading my Premise review to get to know this awesome plugin …

Premise main settings

First thing you will see in main settings is the place where your need to insert your API key. Without this key, Premise plugin will not function.

Once you enable the plugin you can choose the landing page URL look, and decide if you want to enable the membership module.

Below that you will find fields where you can enter the info needed to authorize the e-mail marketing service you are using (Aweber, Mailchimp, Constant Contact).

Next option is setting your default favicon, default header image, header image link and footer text. Since your landing pages are a part of your blog you may want to set the default header image link to go to your homepage so you have an option for your visitors to go back to the site from the landing page (because landing pages won’t have your usual menu).

premise plugin main settings

Then you have the SEO settings where you can choose if you want to use Premise SEO. You can also choose to apply no index, no follow and no archive to page.

Next option is sharing and you have two types of sharing – simple and enhanced.

The testing option used to integrate with Google Website Optimizer but since it is being discontinued, it is integrating with the new Google Analytics Content Experiments and Visual Website Optimizer.

The last option in the main settings are scripts. You can add any code that you need on landing pages like tracking codes, CSS and so on.

Premise style settings

Premise comes with a default look, with a certain page width, settings and link colors. You can create as many styles as you want so every landing page can look differently.

You can also set up your own buttons.

Custom code

You can add custom CSS and custom functions to your landing pages going through the custom code tab.

Education

My favorite part about premise plug-in is not the plugin itself, it is actually education you get with it. Not only pages and pages of tutorials on how to use it, but the education center is full of seminars and copywriting resources. Coming from Copyblogger Media crew, you know it is amazing.

There are also downloadable resources which include the sample header images, graphic library preview catalog and the premise gallery with landing page templates.

And on top of that, when you are creating one of the landing pages, you can actually insert samples of sales pages or what ever you need as a copywriting template telling you what to write in which part of the page. It helps immensely with writing, especially if you are not a great copywriter.

Types of landing pages you can create

It is important to note that once you create a landing page you cannot change the type of it.

premise pages

Check Out Premise Examples

Types of pages you can create with Premise plugin:

Sales page – Sales page is a common page where you can insert your offer with call to action to sell your product or service.

Content landing page – Content landing page is a page you should fill with great quality content and then send traffic to it. For example, you should give your readers a lot of value on a single topic on one page. This can include content itself with additional reading material (links to pages with more information).

Pricing – Pricing page is usually used for pricing table landing page. This is a great way to present different price levels you offer when it comes to your product or service.

Opt in pages – Opt in landing page is usually focused on getting people to sign up for your e-mail list. Premise plugin integrates easy with major e-mail marketing services so all you will have to do is insert the opt in form and collect new e-mails.

Video – Video landing page is great for pages where you want to offer value in a video but still want it in a form of a landing page. Usually, you will see a video at the top of the landing page with some content below the video (offer) and an opt in form for capturing e-mails of those readers liking the offer you made into video.

Tab scroller – Tab scroller is a landing page where you can organize content into multiple tabs and then scroll through them. It makes it easy to create a landing page with multiple offers or an offer where you present different aspects of an offer in separate tabs.

Thank you – Thank you page is a great landing page option for different pages you can use to thank the readers for signing up for your email list, leaving a comment on your blog or buying your product.

Social share – This is one of my favorite pages because it helps you spread your content. You have two parts of the page, before and after sharing parts. The first part is what your readers will see on a page when they land on it for the first time. Then, at the bottom, you can automatically (using the plugin) add sharing buttons for Twitter and Facebook. People will have to share the page to be able to see the rest of the content.

premise sharing

Check Out Premise Examples

Create membership areas and sell digital products

This option was recently added to Premise plugin and it makes everything easier because you don’t need another plugin for this.

premise membership areas

You can set payment options (including recurring payments); checkout, login and member page, even SSL certificates.

You can even set up membership payments for chosen pages so you can still have free content available and then charge for the premium content.

Conclusion

Premise plugin is a big package of features anyone can put to good use. Even if you are not offering or selling any type of digital products, you can still use it to create great looking landing pages to capture emails or get more shares on your content.

If there is one premium plugin I strongly recommend using on your blog, it will be this one. Learning the lessons you get with the plugin can help you so much with your writing that you can make your money back in matter of days.

Are you using this plugin or have you been thinking about trying it out?

premise landing page

Premise plugin is one of the WordPress plugins every blog should have. From creating great looking sales pages and opt in pages to membership sites. Highly recommended.

Social media sharp shooter and online business coach at Online Income Star. If you need help building your online business or want to hire someone you can trust, you can always find me at home.

GET FREE EMAIL UPDATES

Get our latest articles delivered to your email inbox, plus download our FREE 15 minutes later marketing guide.

We respect your privacy!

{ 44 comments… add one }

  • Des Adams August 14, 2014, 1:25 am

    Thank you for this detailed review, as I hadn’t come across this before. I am very familiar with Copyblogger as I have been following their advice and articles for a long time. Having one source for creating great looking landing pages is also a plus as well.

  • Tony G February 17, 2013, 6:52 pm

    Uggg…too late. I will wait until Premise runs another special.

    • Hesham Zebida February 17, 2013, 10:06 pm

      Tony, you can subscribe to our news letter, I will send an update when next offer or discount goes live.
      Find the optin form on front page or sidebar.

      • Tony G February 18, 2013, 11:00 am

        LOL, I looked for the news letter and now wonder how I missed it! Thanks, I will sign up!

  • Clay Franklin February 16, 2013, 5:02 pm

    Thank you for the review. The stars for the review really stand out in Google search. The author h review plug in seems a bit pricey at $67 but sure stands out on the SERP.

    I was going to order Premise last night and forgot. I send a groveling email to support so we will see if I get it now or have to wait for another sale.

    I want to use it to drip classes out for a membership site. I have a non drip membership site now that works to protect downloads but really want to get the recurring payments from a drip out of content site. thank you again for the great review. I’ll subscribe to comments to keep up with your discussion.

    • Hesham Zebida February 17, 2013, 6:05 pm

      Hi Clay,

      The Author hReview plugin has a free version that you can try out and use if you don’t want to get the pro version.

      After trying Premise, I highly recommend it. Sorry you’ve missed the discount, maybe next time.

  • Howard February 15, 2013, 5:02 pm

    Thanks for this informative post. I’ve bought premise this evening using your link as it looks like a package that will suit most of my needs. I have used many premium optin forms but have designed most of my own landing pages and I’m considering setting up membership sites for a few niche sites. Again thanks for the review and it just happens that the product has a reasonable discount at the moment as I’ve bought it for $95 rather than the $165 that others have quoted here – hope that puts a few dollars your way ;-). So others reading this post may want to consider getting it whilst it is on offer. Best regards, Howard

    • Hesham Zebida February 15, 2013, 5:14 pm

      Hi Howard,

      I did the same thing and got it for only $95 a couple of months ago, the guys over Copyblogger Media runs offers from time to time. The offer is running this week, it’s ending today though, so I must say you got it just on time :)

      I am planning to use Premise plugin on my coming project, I think it has all what I need to run a membership site and actually sale my -in the making- WordPress plugin.

      I hope you will enjoy it.

  • Anthony Dyson February 12, 2013, 8:54 am

    Thanks for the reviews. I am thinking of purchasing but had a question. Does anyone know if it works with Infusionsoft? Thanks

    • Hesham Zebida February 12, 2013, 8:39 pm

      I am not sure because I never used Infusionsoft and don’t know what type of integration you are expecting. Anywyas, I can see that devs are working toward making an integration between Infusionsoft and Premise.

      You can check out this thread at studiopress.com and get in touch with those guys: Infusionsoft and WordPress.

  • Taswir Haider January 24, 2013, 1:04 am

    The plugin is good but seems little bit pricey. Still I believe I will buy it soon, as the quality of landing page and sales page creation is quite impressive.

  • Ramkalyan December 13, 2012, 9:35 am

    Hello Brankica

    I purchased Premise a few months ago. Looks great with a lot of features than the standard landing I have on my theme.

    The only problem I have with Premise is that it isn’t (mobile) responsive. Do you think they have any plans of making it responsive?
    Ramkalyan recently posted..Why The Keywords Meta Tag Isn’t Completely Useless AnymoreMy Profile

  • Kahlil December 4, 2012, 9:37 pm

    this is awesome and interesting information. :D
    I will try this on my blog. Thanks for sharing.

  • Jon November 17, 2012, 3:00 pm

    Premise rocks. I use it on a number of sites. It’s the perfect landing page solution when you want landing pages within your site. There are other terrific landing page themes (I use those as well); however, the trouble with those is you must install them on a separate domain.

    I’ve created some amazing sales and content pages with Premise. You can totally customize the style for each page, including the header. The versatility is incredible. It’s a bit time-consuming on the editing side, but once you get the hang of it and create a few styles you like, it’s fast to replicate it.

  • ANY November 14, 2012, 10:13 am

    Premisis the price is very expensive. I think the should plan trial. Thanks again for your post!.

  • Nic Oliver October 28, 2012, 1:01 pm

    Well, I may have found my Holy Grail.

    I’ve been looking for the right piece of software for membership sites for a long time. I’ve played with and bought a number of them, only to find they don’t do what I want or, in the case of DAP, require a PhD to understand!

    I’m not totally comfortable with the idea of a WP-based membership site, purely from a security perspective. Otherwise, it beats everything else hands down because of the design freedom it offers.

    Buying this is a no-brainer for me, even if I won’t use it on all my sites. The free education material is worth more than the cost of the plugin! Oh, and I am a Genesis member so I know and trust the team.

    I wont be using it for large-scale CRM/social media community sites but that’s not what it’s meant for. It looks like I’ll be able to produce training-course continuity sites quickly, which is a big bonus!

  • Thomas October 25, 2012, 10:12 pm

    Great post.

    If I wanted to host 3 different landing pages, would I require to host 3 blogs with this plug-in installed. Or can you produce these landing pages as add-ons to your domain.

    Obviously, a little confused.

    • Hesham Zebida October 27, 2012, 12:41 am

      Thomas, Premise plugin allows you to create unlimited number of landing pages on the same site.

  • Abhik September 27, 2012, 12:40 am

    $165 for a WordPress plugin is too much.
    However, the purposes that this plugin serves are just awesome, but there are alternative ways to do things. :)

  • Frank Steiner September 16, 2012, 11:33 pm

    Even though it is an expensive product, I might still buy it in the future to improve landing page optimization time.

    By the way, how did you make the plugin review box inside blog post area? Is it a plugin or custom code?

    Thanks,

  • Jupiter Jim September 13, 2012, 5:47 am

    Brankica,

    I am glad you did this review and are so enthusiastic about Premise. It’s easy to use, BUT you can create and save your own styles. So once you set font size, family, color, background colors, alert box settings, etc, you can use that same style for any other Page you create with Premise on that same Blog. It would be cool if you could take those settings and use them on other sites on which you have installed Premise.

    I LOVE the fact that it gives filler, demo, dummy, example text for each type of page that it creates (like landing, sales, video, thank you) so you’ve got a place to start for layout, etc.

    And the graphics, like the arrows, and “guaranteed 100%” type buttons you can install with a click of the mouse are also very cool.

    As you mentioned, you can use this plugin with ANY WordPress theme or Framework, be it Woo Themes, Genesis or Thesis or whatever!

    Thanks again for your post!

    ~ Jupiter Jim
    Jupiter Jim recently posted..Thesis Tutorial: Create “Fat Footer” or Widgetized FooterMy Profile

  • Sanjeev September 13, 2012, 12:02 am

    I use premise for my digital content management and it has some great features build into it. With the 2.0 version and membership module it can be a complete solution for the blog. though I would love to see some affiliate management system build into it

  • Rashmi Sinha September 12, 2012, 7:06 pm

    A review that offers everything: information, tips and it is very well written. The software itself looks promising in all ways, i guess this is why i see it very often.

  • james horn September 12, 2012, 4:57 pm

    I think is will be a fantastic product after they upgrade it more. I know they don’t say they are in beta, but from my experience as an owner of this plugin, I definitely feel the membership module needs more upgrades, tutorials, and better support.

    I really want to use this product with my Genesis themes because it would integrate nicely and I wanted to eliminate as many software’s and plugins as I could.

    I wanted to eliminate my Optimize Press, Wishlist membership plugin, DLGuard, which I use as my secure delivery product, . I really just just want to use this plugin, Genesis themes, and Simple Press forum plugin for my entire business.

    All my current software’s have great tutorials, support, and documentation and unfortunately Premise does not. Same owners as Genesis, which has great tutorials and support, but Premise is not on the same level.

    Unfortunately, from my experience, this plugin is not ready for prime time. For example, you can only use Paypal and net for payments, not CB, JVZoo, Digi, Warrior Pro.

    I like to use the free Simple Press Forum plugin, but they have only integrated the vbulletin forum plugin, which is expensive and I don’t need it.

    I am using Aweber and it appears it doesn’t automatically add members to my list, but it appears it will work with MailChimp.

    As I said, I really like this product a lot and in about 6-12 months this will be one of the top plugins on the market. But I am finding it very difficult setting up without problems or a great tutorials, or support system and I don’t like being a beta tester and having to deal with so many problems.

    Just my own experiences, insight, and frustrations, but if anyone else has found better solutions for current Premise 2.1membership module, I would like to hear them.

    • Hesham Zebida September 12, 2012, 5:10 pm

      Hi James,

      Thanks for your great feedback. All are valid points to me, especially that it comes from your personal experience with the plugin.

      • Brankica Underwood September 12, 2012, 7:57 pm

        My Aweber works with them but I can see the tutorial problem you are mentioning. However, they recently made a bunch of tutorial videos that I didn’t see before, they are all on one page, I mean A LOT of videos, have you seen that, James?

        Thanks so much for the feedback on those other tools, I don’t use them so I could not compare it all, I am on a much simpler level of use for this plugin :)
        Brankica Underwood recently posted..33 Actionable Steps for Blog Improvement in ONE WEEKMy Profile

        • Abraham Laria September 13, 2012, 2:42 pm

          Hi Brankika:

          I’m a paid subscriber of Premise. But I’m unable to find those videos you suggest anywhere in my member account. Could yo tell me where I should look for them?

          Thanks in advance.

  • Khaja moin September 12, 2012, 1:05 pm

    Premise heard first time. Looks great by your review.
    I feel bad that I can`t get one for me now, but will make sure that I will get one near future.

    ~@khajamoin1
    Khaja moin recently posted..Is there Any Alternatives to Google Search Engine?My Profile

  • Mairaj Pirzada September 12, 2012, 6:23 am

    Haven’t used Premise.
    But, love it extremely but cannot afford to buy it.
    BTW, truly that’s called a review!
    Mairaj Pirzada recently posted..How to Get Most Out of Reading?My Profile

    • Brankica Underwood September 12, 2012, 12:17 pm

      Thanks so much and if you can’t afford it at the moment, make sure to keep your eyes open, they often have specials and big discounts, last time when they were releasing new features the plugin was less than $100 and with all the options and licence, it is well worth it.

      • Mairaj Pirzada September 13, 2012, 1:51 am

        Oaha.
        Really?
        That’s quite an awesome news for me to hear about their discounts.
        I’d love seeing your sending us discounts for various products in your newsletters as I’m subscribed to it. Thanks!
        Mairaj Pirzada recently posted..How to Get Most Out of Reading?My Profile

  • Sarah Arrow September 12, 2012, 4:36 am

    Like a lot of people I love this plugin, landing pages and the info resources that come with it make it well worth the money.

    The downside for me is the landing pages are a form of post and not an actual page, so if you were creating a squeeze page style content section you will have all the things (sharing buttons, related posts etc) show on your landing page, which is both frustrating and annoying.

    Also I’ve had issues with the social share aspect, I’ve never had the Facebook part work for me, but in fairness I’ve never been able to get anything related to Facebook work correctly on any of my sites.

    All that aside, it’s a great product and I’d recommend getting it.

    • Brankica Underwood September 12, 2012, 12:16 pm

      Are you sure it isn’t something else? cause on my blog, it is a page and it isn’t pulling anything from my posts, the related posts nor the sharing buttons. for example here is one landing page where I point people to different topics and it is not pulling anything from the blog http://onlineincomestar.com/social-media-marketing/

      Hope you get it to work, though!!! And thanks for the comment :)

  • Enstine Muki September 12, 2012, 4:33 am

    Hi Brankica,
    Seriously, this looks an interesting plugin. I see some of the features I spent time looking for when I was doing my last sales page. I’m surely going to go in for it.

    thanks for the review
    Enstine Muki recently posted..Powerful hidden traffic strategy for bloggersMy Profile

    • Brankica Underwood September 12, 2012, 12:14 pm

      Glad you like it, Enstine, I have to say the plugin keeps getting better. When I first started using it, it was pretty simple and since, they had two big updates with more features so it constantly keeps evolving. I just love it cause it covers so much ground we bloggers need.
      Brankica Underwood recently posted..ProspectSnap iPhone App ReviewMy Profile

  • Ileane September 12, 2012, 4:21 am

    Hi Brankica! I purchased Premise about 2 weeks ago and right when I was ready to install it, my blog crashed. lol (it’s back now so I can smile about it).

    I can’t wait to install this bad-boy and I’m so glad to see your review because you gave me like a quick start lesson here. I hope you do a YouTube video on it some day too.

    I’ll be sharing this all over the place, thanks so much!!
    Ileane recently posted..How To Schedule YouTube Video Uploads and Add A Custom ThumbnailMy Profile

    • Brankica Underwood September 12, 2012, 12:12 pm

      Hey Ileane, thanks so much, I think you will love the plugin. I do have a short video on my channel but I plan to do more as I am just now starting to use more of the plugin. I am currently planning and plotting ;) some membership content and I will definitely use Premise for that.

      What happened to your blog? was it the GoDaddy problem?

  • Larry James September 11, 2012, 8:13 pm

    Premisis sure looks like a great way to create professional looking landing pages, But the price is very expensive. I understand that you can also use for many other things, but if all you are looking for is a landing page plugin, it is a little overkill.

    • Brankica Underwood September 12, 2012, 12:09 pm

      It would be if it was ONLY a landing page plugin, but it is also a membership site plugin and the licence lets you install it on clients’ websites. With all the educational material that you get with it, I actually think the price isn’t high at all.
      Brankica Underwood recently posted..MaxBlogPress Ninja Affiliate ReviewMy Profile

  • Trung Nguyen September 11, 2012, 7:56 pm

    I do not use Premise yet, however, it sound good when I read your review, it really worth to make a try. Thanks for sharing :)

Leave a Comment

CommentLuv badge